about me

what do you want to know about me?

well, this blog was set up solely for the purpose of applying for a master’s degree, maybe it’ll develop into something more? maybe it’ll bring me some pennies eventually

I’ve made things ever since i can remember and drawn even longer…

I love colour, pattern, textures, i get excited looking at wallpaper books and cuz i’m deaf i guess this is my version of music, different moods, different rhythms, different vibes… favourite colours are greek blue, turquoise, lime, olive, khaki and all reds

i seem to have two favourite ‘moods’ – the very feminine, floral, vintage pastels and then the monotone side with tactile fabrics – silk, rubber and leather either way i love translucent fabrics and illustrating them in 2d and 3d – but not too keen on sewing chiffon – especially bias cut… oooh what a nightmare doing bias cut full length dressing gown hems… bring on the sample machinists…   …which reminds me – i am not a dressmaker – i might have made all my own clothes from the age of 13 and all those of my daughter until she was 9, but now labour is so cheap abroad, i can’t beat store prices or quality – it’d probably cost me more in petrol doing the run around than you’d be prepared to pay!

if you want to see more of my stuff i am available on facebook, blurb, deviantart etc and google will bring up some of my other stuff – but be careful you don’t open anything with “dawn hocknell deviant” in it – it’s a virus

Leave a comment